Getting my cooking fix: Roasted Chickpea Snacks

This post was originally written for an old blog in 2009 and brought over to Kensington Kitchen in February 2011 because we hate losing good recipes.

>It’s been too hot to really use the stove and oven for a few weeks now and I’ve been going through cooking withdrawal – subsisting mainly on cold sandwiches, salads, quickly fried grilled cheese and eggs over easy.

This week I decided to try out the slow-cooker to see what kind of thermal damage it did to an already sweltering kitchen. Turns out, not too much. I think I have a way to get my cooking fix for the next couple weeks. I’ll have to be careful not to let the crockpot lead me to harder-core cooking, though. I went a bit too far with the heat last night when I had the oven at 450 degrees for 40 minutes, but I’m pleased to announced that the results were worth it.

It started on Monday with chickpeas. I’m way too cheap to buy the canned kind, so opted for the $0.99/lb dried kind. I took a 1/2 lb and soaked them for a good 24 hours, and on Tuesday I put them in the slow-cooker with a sprinkling of turmeric (to get a nice yellow color) on low for 4 hours. They were starting to lose their jackets at this point, so 3 hours might do better in the future. These led me to the salad I posted earlier in the week.

Then came the problem of what to do with the crap-ton of chickpeas I still had leftover.

Problem solved by one of my new old roommates, whose mom has a fabulous recipe for roasted chickpea snacks. I modified her recipe by using non-canned chickpeas and adding garlic.

*****

Paprika Roasted Chickpeas

1/2 lb dried chickpeas, soaked and simmered (see above), or 2 15oz cans, drained and dried
about 3T Olive Oil
Coarse salt
Garlic powder
Paprika

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place the chickpeas in a single layer on a rimmed cookie sheet (aka jelly roll pan). Coat with olive oil and roast for 35-40min, tossing occasionally, until golden brown and crispy.

Remove from oven and sprinkle with coarse salt, garlic powder and paprika. Roast 2-3 more minutes. Cool completed on a paper-towel lined plate. Store in an air-tight container.

One response

Leave a Reply

